Board Members

Ann Bruzzese, President
11/17/2016 – 11/17/2021
Karin Daniels, Vice President
6/30/2015 – 6/30/2020
Bob Ledger, Immediate Past President
6/26/2019 – 6/26/2024
Shere Byrd, Member
6/30/2015 – 6/30/2020
Terryl Peterson, Treasurer
4/28/2016 – 4/28/2021
Gwen Lachelt, La Plata County Commissioner
Alvin Schaaf, Archuleta County Commissioner

Board of Health

Colorado State law requires each county to establish and maintain a county public health agency or participate in a district public health agency (C.R.S. §25-1-506). San Juan Basin Public Health was formed as a district public health agency through a joint resolution between La Plata County and Archuleta County. The joint resolution also determined that SJBPH would be governed by a 7-member Board of Health to include one county commissioner from Archuleta County and one county commissioner from La Plata County, both of whom are ex-officio voting members. The remaining five members of the Board are appointed by the SJBPH Appointments Committee from members of the general public in both counties with education and/or experience in finance or a public health discipline. Board members serve five-year staggered terms.

Per the Colorado Public Health Act of 2008 (C.R.S. §25-1-501 et seq.), the SJBPH Board of Health is responsible for:

  • Selecting a public health director
  • Approving a five-year local public health plan
  • Determining necessary services and setting local priorities consistent with State public health laws and rules
  • Administering and enforcing public health laws, rules, orders and standards of the State, as well as orders and rules set by the Board of Health itself
  • Conducting hearings, administering oaths, subpoenaing witnesses and taking testimony in all matters relating to their powers and duties
  • Annually reviewing the costs of maintaining the local public health agency and assessing fees to offset actual, direct costs of environmental health services

Board of Health meetings are typically held the last Thursday of every other month and are open to the public. Agendas are posted on this website the preceding Friday.

2020 Board of Health Regular Meeting Schedule:

Thursday, February 27, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Durango)
Thursday, April 30, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Pagosa Springs)
Thursday, June 25, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Durango)
Thursday, August 27, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Durango)
Thursday, October 29, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Pagosa Springs)
Thursday, December 10, 2020, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM (Durango)

2020 Agendas and Minutes

BOH Agendas and Minutes